eosl.ai ›
home › Guides › Cambium Networks PMP 450 MicroPoP

Cambium PMP 450 MicroPoP end of life: replacement options and prices

The PMP 450 MicroPoP reached End of Sale on June 30, 2026, and Cambium lists End of Support on June 30, 2030. Cambium names "PMP 450" as the replacement: the platform, not a model. Two things changed since: Cambium's UK company entered administration in September 2026, and the PMP 450 line was sold to Airspan. And no current PMP 450 access point is a small omni unit like the MicroPoP Omni.

Lifecycle dates

VariantPart numbersEnd of SaleEnd of Support
5 GHz MicroPoP Omni (ROW, FCC, ISED, EU, No Encryption)C050045A201B to A205B2026-06-302030-06-30
5 GHz MicroPoP Sector, 90 degree (same five regions)C050045A206B to A210B2026-06-302030-06-30
5 GHz MicroPoP Connectorized (same five regions)C050045A211B to A215B2026-06-302030-06-30

Source: Cambium Networks product lifecycle, where every row names "PMP 450" as the recommended replacement; all 15 part numbers are on the PMP 450 MicroPoP page, re-verified weekly. The lifecycle page lists B-suffix part numbers. Cambium's 2020 datasheet and many resale listings use A-suffix numbers (C050045A207A, for example), which the lifecycle page does not list.

What end of support means under Cambium's policy

Cambium's lifecycle policy for fixed wireless products counts from End of Sale. Applied to June 30, 2026:

MilestonePolicyFor the MicroPoP
End of software development3 years after End of Sale; critical bugs and security exposures may be fixed later "at Cambium discretion"June 2029
Last Cambium Care and extended warranty renewal3 years after End of SaleJune 2029
End of management system (cnMaestro) support4 years after End of SaleJune 2030
End of Support4 years after End of Sale: "the product becomes unavailable (obsolete)"June 2030

Policy from the milestone table on Cambium's product lifecycle page, which notes that "exceptions apply for some products". The right-hand column is that policy applied to the published End of Sale date, not a per-product date from Cambium.

The MicroPoP is still in active software support. PMP 450 Release 25.1, announced July 23, 2026, includes MicroPoP-specific fixes for registration and uplink sensitivity (Cambium release announcement).

Who owns the PMP 450 line now

  • Administration. Cambium Networks Limited (UK) entered administration on September 14, 2026 (company statement).
  • Sale to Airspan. On September 22, 2026 the administrators sold "the PMP 450 platform, PTP 670, PTP 450i, PTP 700, 28 and 60 GHz cnWave, and cnReach" to Airspan, together with LINKPlanner, cnHeat and cnMaestro "as it relates to the referenced products" (update of September 23).
  • Airspan's position. Airspan's announcement quotes its CEO: "We are fully committed to supporting the customers and partners who have invested in these products" (announcement on Cambium's site).
  • What is not stated. Neither company's statements, as checked, say whether Cambium's published End of Support dates or existing Cambium Care contracts carry over. Ask Airspan in writing before relying on the 2030 date.

What the MicroPoP is

A small, low-power 5 GHz access point for the PMP 450 platform, licensed by default for up to 20 subscribers. It came in Omni, 90 degree Sector and Connectorized versions.

SpecificationPMP 450 MicroPoP
Frequency4900 to 5925 MHz
Channel sizes5, 10, 15, 20, 30 or 40 MHz
Radio2x2 MIMO OFDM; up to 300 Mbps aggregate in a 40 MHz channel
SubscribersUp to 20; up to 238 with an optional licence key
RangeUp to 3.2 km (2 mi); up to 64 km (40 mi) with an optional licence key
AntennaOmni 9 dBi, 360 degrees; Sector 13 dBi, 90 degrees
SynchronisationEmbedded GPS module, or "Cambium Synch via PoE"
Power9 W typical, 12 W peak; 46 to 59 V DC, 802.3af compatible

Source: Cambium PMP 450 MicroPoP datasheet (2020). It says the MicroPoP "integrates seamlessly with existing 450 platform devices" but does not list which subscriber module models it serves.

Replacement access points

Cambium's PMP 450 page lists these access points besides the MicroPoP. None is an omni or a small low-power unit, so an Omni MicroPoP site has no like-for-like replacement in the line.

PMP 450 MicroPoPPMP 450i AP5 GHz PMP 450mPMP 450v AP
StatusEnd of sale 2026-06CurrentCurrentCurrent
Frequency4.9 to 5.925 GHz3.3 to 3.9 GHz or 4.9 to 5.925 GHz5 GHz (a 3 GHz model also exists)5.15 to 7.125 GHz
AntennaOmni, 90 degree sector or connectorizedIntegrated sector or connectorizedIntegrated 90 degree sector array, multi-user MIMOsee product page
Subscribers per sector20, or 238 with licenceUp to 238Up to 238Up to 238
SynchronisationEmbedded GPS moduleVia CMM5 or UGPSsee product pagesee product page
Subscriber modules"existing 450 platform devices"not stated on the page"all 5 GHz and 3 GHz subscriber modules including 450b, 450i, and legacy 450"Backward compatible with PMP 450, 450i and 450b SMs

Sources: Cambium product pages for the PMP 450i AP, 5 GHz PMP 450m and PMP 450v AP; the 450m compatibility quote is from the PMP 450 family page; the 450v compatibility is from Cambium's Release 24.0 announcement. "Current" means listed on Cambium's product pages and absent from its end-of-sale list as checked; the MicroPoP is also still on the family page, so the product pages alone do not prove a model is on sale.

Choosing between them

  • PMP 450i AP. The closest in role for a sector or connectorized MicroPoP site that needs more reach or more subscribers without paying for a licence key. It has no onboard GPS: plan a CMM5 or UGPS for synchronisation.
  • 5 GHz PMP 450m. A much larger multi-user MIMO sector (Cambium: up to seven SMs at once) for a site that has outgrown a small access point. Cambium's page quotes both ">500 Mbps" and ">400 Mbps" actual throughput in a 20 MHz channel. It costs several times as much as a MicroPoP (prices below).
  • PMP 450v AP. For operators moving into 6 GHz spectrum where it is licensed or permitted.
  • Omni sites. Either run a sector AP and accept the coverage change, or keep MicroPoP Omni units, which remain in software support until 2029 under Cambium's policy.

Where to buy, with prices

Snapshot taken 2026-10-07. Prices change; follow the link for today's figure.

ItemSellerPriceNotes
5 GHz PMP 450i integrated AP, 90 degree, FCC (C050045A006D)StreakwaveUSD 3,877.65Out of stock
5 GHz PMP 450m integrated AP, FCC (C050045A102B)StreakwaveUSD 8,845.92Out of stock; backorder only
PMP 450 MicroPoP Connectorized, ISED (C050045A213A)ISP SuppliesUSD 1,139.04 plus USD 41.01 tariffStock by enquiry
PMP 450 MicroPoP, new, variouseBay USUSD 599.00 to 1,139.04 across 3 listingsAll listed as new; no used units listed

Out-of-stock replacement access points are consistent with the September 16 statement, which describes a pause in the fixed wireless business and says distributors "may sell existing finished goods inventory at their discretion".

Third-party maintenance

For a fixed wireless access point, the practical hardware cover is your own spare units. Firmware and cnMaestro support come only from the platform owner, which is now Airspan for the PMP 450 line. With new MicroPoPs still on sale at distributors, buying a spare or two while they are available is the simplest way to cover a site until the replacement is decided.

Questions

Is the Cambium PMP 450 MicroPoP end of life?

It reached End of Sale on June 30, 2026. Cambium lists its End of Support as June 30, 2030 for all 15 Omni, Sector and Connectorized part numbers.

What replaces the PMP 450 MicroPoP?

Cambium names "PMP 450", the platform, rather than a single model. The current PMP 450 access points are the 450i, the 450m and the 450v. None is an omni unit.

Who supports the PMP 450 MicroPoP now?

The PMP 450 platform was sold to Airspan on September 22, 2026, after Cambium Networks Limited entered administration. The published statements do not say whether Cambium's lifecycle dates carry over.

Does the MicroPoP still get firmware updates?

Yes, as of the check date. PMP 450 Release 25.1 (July 2026) included MicroPoP fixes. Cambium's policy ends software development 3 years after End of Sale, which would be June 2029.

Sources

Researched by EOSL.ai; specifications, prices and third-party pages checked Oct 7, 2026. Lifecycle dates come from the Cambium Networks PMP 450 MicroPoP record, which is re-verified against the vendor source every week. Prices change daily; follow each price's link for the current figure.

More replacement guides